Skip to the content

Over the past couple of weeks Microsoft has faced criticism from PC users across the world for changing the pop-up box encouraging Windows users to upgrade to Windows 10.

 

Unlike traditional pop-ups where the red X in the corner indicates close, the X in the top right hand corner of the pop-up now agrees to a scheduled upgrade.

As stated by the BBC, the change occurred because the update is now labelled "recommended”, and many people have their PCs configured to accept recommended updates for security reasons.

Therefore, dismissing the pop-up does not dismiss the update.

Brad Chacos, senior editor at PC World, described it as a "nasty trick", one which has caused outrage across the PC community.

Here were just some of the Tweets he received after taking to Twitter:

Following the heavy backlash and criticism, Microsoft have since added another notification that confirms the time of the scheduled upgrade, giving customers another chance to cancel or reschedule the upgrade.

A spokesperson from Microsoft told the BBC "If the customer wishes to continue with their upgrade at the designated time, they can click 'OK' or close the notifications with no further action needed."

Whether you wanted have been affected by the popup box or not, the free Windows 10 Update ends on July 29th!  

Posted by Administrator on
comments powered by Disqus

Synapse QuickSupport

Synapse IT is able to offer QuickSupport to our clients. Our support software enables us to resolve your problems remotely in minutes. For QuickSupport, please call our office and click the help button when advised to do so by one of our consultants.

IT Service Testimonials

Testimonials

Find out what our clients are saying about us!

Contact us for IT services

Talk to us today

If you have any queries, contact us today.