Need help? Call us now on  1300 903 405

Microsoft's 'Nasty Trick' Pop Up

October 1, 2018

Over the past couple of weeks Microsoft has faced criticism from PC users across the world for changing the pop-up box encouraging Windows users to upgrade to Windows 10.

Unlike traditional pop-ups where the red X in the corner indicates close, the X in the top right hand corner of the pop-up now agrees to a scheduled upgrade.

As stated by the BBC, the change occurred because the update is now labelled "recommended”, and many people have their PCs configured to accept recommended updates for security reasons.

Therefore, dismissing the pop-up does not dismiss the update.

Brad Chacos, senior editor at PC World, described it as a "nasty trick", one which has caused outrage across the PC community.

Here were just some of the Tweets he received after taking to Twitter:

Following the heavy backlash and criticism, Microsoft have since added another notification that confirms the time of the scheduled upgrade, giving customers another chance to cancel or reschedule the upgrade.

A spokesperson from Microsoft told the BBC "If the customer wishes to continue with their upgrade at the designated time, they can click 'OK' or close the notifications with no further action needed."

Whether you wanted have been affected by the popup box or not, the free Windows 10 Update ends on July 29th!

Synapse QuickSupport
Synapse IT is able to offer QuickSupport to our clients. Our support software enables us to resolve your problems remotely in minutes. For QuickSupport, please call our office and click the help button when advised to do so by one of our consultants.
Suite 101
22 St Kilda Rd
St Kilda, Victoria 3182

1300 903 405
© 2018 Synapse IT Consultants Pty Ltd
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram